Yorke Peninsula District Council

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Local Government
Place:Yorke Peninsula
State/Country:South Australia, Australia
URL: http://www.yorke.sa.gov.au/
Summary Information:
The District Council of Yorke Peninsula was formed on 10th February 1997, as a result of the voluntary amalgamation of the District Councils of Central Yorke Peninsula, Minlaton, Yorketown and Warooka. The Council covers an area of 5,834 square kilometres, has a distance of approximately 175 kilometres between its northern and southern boundaries, and being a Peninsula, has a varying width east to west averaging approximately 30 kilometres. The Council is unique in comparison to other Local Government Authorities in that it is bordered by sea on three sides and as such has 435 kilometres of coastline. The Council shares its northern boundary with the District Council of the Copper Coast, District Council of Barunga West and the Wakefield Regional Council. The Councilís population is estimated to be approximately 11,780, which is less than 1% of the total South Australian population. Of that base population, research by the Yorke Regional Development Board has shown that the Yorke Peninsula region has the oldest age profile of any region within Australia.

Related Entries

  • Port Vincent Marina Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Narungga Local Government (Yorke Peninsula) Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) - Signatory

  • Glossary

    Local Government