Deline Dene Band

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Representative Body | Aboriginal Community Council
Place:Deline District
State/Country:Northwest Territories, Canada
Alternative Names:
  • Déline Dene Band
  • Subject Matter:Self Government
    Summary Information:
    Deline was known as Fort Franklin until 1993 when the Sahtu Dene and Metis Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement was signed. The Deline Dene Band has governing authority under the Indian Act and serves a population of approximately 650 residents in an area approximately 100 kilometres south of the Arctic Circle. Deline is the first Sahtu community and is located on the shores of the Sahtu (Great Bear) Lake 544 kilometres northwest of Yellowknife. Deline residents are in the majority Dene or Metis people who speak both the North Slavey language and English. Sahtu Dene families are frequently related to Mountain Dene, Hare and Gwich’in peoples. Many residents continue to hunt, trap and fish in order to supplement their diets. The Deline Dene Band Council manages the affairs of the Community of Deline and of the Charter Community of Deline and delivers a broad range of services and programs in this capacity. Officially, the Deline Dene Band and the Charter Community cease to exist on the Effective Date of the Deline Self-Government Agreement-in-Principle which was signed on 23 August 2003. They will be replaced by the Deline First Nation Government.

    Related Entries

  • Deline Self-Government Agreement-in-Principle for the Sahtu Dene and Metis of Deline 2003 - Signatory
  • Organisation
  • Deline First Nation Government
  • Deline Land Corporation
  • Assembly of First Nations
  • People
  • Sahtu Dene People
  • Metis People
  • Gwich'in People

  • Glossary

    Representative Body | Aboriginal Community Council (Australia)