Nunavut Inuit

Category: People
Sub Category:Inuit of Canada
State/Country:Nunavut, Canada
Summary Information:
Nunavut comprises the central and eastern parts of the former Northwest Territories (NWT). It is the homeland of the Inuit of the Canadian North who have occupied the area for thousands of years. The federal Parliament passed the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement Act in 1993 and ratified it with the Inuit. The Nunavut territory was created when in April 1999, the NWT was divided into two, subsequent to the passage of the Nunavut Act. The Nunavut now govern an area of approximately 2 million square kilometres. Through the Nunavut Government, the residents of Nunavut have control of education, social services and other provincial-type responsibilities. The Nunavut has 25 communities of which Iqaluit is the largest.

Related Entries

  • Political Accord to Establish a Nunavik Commission for Self-Government 1999
  • Nunavut Agreement-in-Principle
  • Nunavut Political Accord
  • Nunavik Inuit Marine Region Agreement-in-Principle 2002
  • BHP Billiton Ekati Mine Project Environmental Agreement 1997
  • Organisation
  • Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated
  • Legislation
  • Nunavut Act 1993
  • Nunavut Land Claims Agreement Act
  • People
  • Inuit of Canada
  • Nunavik Inuit

  • References

    Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (2003) Nunavut
    Mapleleafweb (2002) The History of the Nunavut Inuit


    Inuit of Canada