Lockhart River 'Empower the Community' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)

Date: 3 December 2003
Sub Category:Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
Place:Cape York
State/Country:Queensland, Australia
Lockhart River is located approximately 800 kilometres north of Cairns.
Subject Matter:
URL: http://www.indigenous.gov.au/sra/qld/fact_sheets/qld05.pdf
Summary Information:
The Lockhart River Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) was signed on 3 December 2003. This SRA is part of the Cape York Council of Australian Governments (COAG) trial. The SRA signed in 2003 was followed by a Community Plan in 2004. The focus of this SRA is community planning.
Detailed Information:
The agreement signed in 2003 committed the community to developing a community plan related to economic development and education. The Commonwealth and Queensland governments agreed to assist with the plan. The Community Plan 2004-08 outlines the community's desired outcomes and performance indicators for issues including housing, justice, employment and men's and women's issues. Priorities identified in the plan include: - develop outstations - improve road and sea access - break the unemployment cycle - improve housing - improve community facilities - celebrate and teach traditional ways - improve education provision. The Queensland government has funded a community development officer to assist the community. The Lockhart River community has developed a Puuya Strategy to guide relations with government. The Lockhart River SRA is administered by the Cape York Indigenous Coordination Centre.

Related Entries

  • Wadeye Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Greater Shepparton Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Tjurabalan Community Participation Agreement
  • Murdi Paaki Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • ACT Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Hope Vale 'Partnership' Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Organisation
  • Department of Employment and Workplace Relations (Cth)
  • Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination (Cth)
  • Council of Australian Governments
  • Commonwealth of Australia - Signatory
  • State of Queensland - Signatory
  • Cape York Indigenous Coordination Centre (ICC)
  • Event
  • Council of Australian Governments' Communiqué
  • Policy/Strategy
  • Cape York COAG Trial
  • Whole of Government Initiatives
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Lands COAG Trial
  • North Eastern Tasmania COAG Trial

  • References

    Department of Local Government, Planning, Sport and Recreation (2005) Aboriginal Shire and Island Council Update


    Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) (Australia)