Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (Cth)

Category: Organisation
Binomial Name: Australian Commonwealth Government
Sub Category:Federal Government
Alternative Names:
  • AFFA
  • URL:
    Summary Information:
    'The Australian Government Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (DAFF) is responsible for Australia's agricultural, fisheries, forestry and food industries. Our role is to increase the competitiveness, profitability and sustainability of these industries through:
  • Sustainable use and management of the natural resources
  • Protecting the health and safety of our plant and animal industries
  • Responsive and efficient industry
  • Improved market access and performance
  • Benefiting from new technology and practices
  • Skilled, financially self-reliant producers. The Department employs around 4200 staff working in Australia and overseas. Our wide range of staff include policy officers, program administrators, scientists, economists, meat inspectors, veterinary officers and quarantine inspectors.' (Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry - Australian Government, 'The Department': (at 17 August 2005)).

  • Related Entries

  • Memorandum of Understanding between Indigenous Land Corporation and Department of the Environment and Heritage
  • Circular Head 'Community Garden Project' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) - Signatory
  • Mandubarra Traditional Use Marine Resources Agreement (TUMRA)
  • Gunggandji Traditional Use Marine Resource Agreement (TUMRA)
  • Organisation
  • Commonwealth of Australia

  • Glossary

    Federal Government