Girringun 'Traditional Owners Plan for the Future' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)

Date: 1 January 2005
Sub Category:Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
Place:Girringun region
State/Country:Queensland, Australia
Subject Matter: | Employment and Training
Summary Information:
The Girringun 'Traditional Owners Plan for the Future' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) was made to increase the governance skills of Indigenous elders in the Townsville region. Shared Responsibility Agreements are agreements between governments and Indigenous communities to provide discretionary funding in return for community obligations. The new arrangements developed from an initiative of the Council of Australian Governments and replace the previous ATSIC system of funding. For more information see ‘Shared Responsibility Agreement’ below.
Detailed Information:
Purpose The SRA was signed by the Girringun Aboriginal Corporation and the Commonwealth Government. The Girringun Aboriginal Corporation represents the land and sea interests of the Girramay, Wargamay, Gugu Badhun, Jirrbal, Djiru, Warungu, Bandjin and Nywaigi traditional owner groups. The SRA specifically relates to the activities of the Girringun Governing Council. The Governing Council consists of an elder from each of the Girringun traditional owner groups. The SRA will provide skills development in the areas of governance, negotiation and planning to members of the Governing Council. It will also assist in planning for the future and negotiating future agreements. Shared Responsibilities The Commonwealth Government will contribute $60,000 to the development of governance skills, particularly focussing on engagement between government and locals. The Girringun Governing Council has committed to working actively with governments to improve service delivery. This SRA is administered by the Townsville Indigenous Coordination Centre.

Related Entries

  • Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination (Cth)
  • Commonwealth of Australia - Signatory
  • Girringun Aboriginal Corporation - Signatory
  • Girringun Governing Council - Signatory
  • Townsville Indigenous Coordination Centre (ICC)

  • Glossary

    Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) (Australia)