La Perouse 'Housing - Improving Community Development' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)

Date: 1 January 2005
Sub Category:Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
State/Country:New South Wales, Australia
Northern Peninsula of Port Botany.
Alternative Names:
  • La Perouse 'Extension of the CDF' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Subject Matter: | Cultural Heritage | Health and Community Services
    Summary Information:
    The La Perouse 'Housing - Improving Community Development' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) is aimed at improving the management of community housing as well as raising awareness of the cultural significance of La Perouse Mission. Shared Responsibility Agreements are agreements between governments and Indigenous communities to provide discretionary funding in return for community obligations. The new arrangements developed from an initiative of the Council of Australian Governments and replace the previous ATSIC system of funding. For more information see ‘Shared Responsibility Agreement’ below.
    Detailed Information:
    Purpose La Perouse is a discrete Indigenous community on the Northern Peninsula of Port Botany. This SRA, one of two recently signed by the La Perouse community, is aimed at raising awareness of the community’s history and cultural significance, and improving the community’s housing. The SRA provides for a community history project, and for the continued support of a Community Development Facilitator to help the community address housing issues. Shared Responsibilities The community will form a residents’ group to work with the Community Development Facilitator in resolving tenancy issues. Community members will support the work of this residents’ group, and agree to pay rent and enter into tenancy agreements. The community will also coordinate the history project. All community members will be informed of the project and given the opportunity to tell their personal and family stories about life at the La Perouse Mission. The Commonwealth Government will continue to support the Community Development Facilitator, who is already working with the community, for a further year. The New South Wales Government will provide administrative support for the residents’ group. The local housing organisation will provide office space and equipment for the residents’ group.

    Related Entries

  • La Perouse 'Youth Haven - Keeping Young People Safe' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Organisation
  • Commonwealth of Australia - Signatory
  • State of New South Wales - Signatory
  • Sydney Indigenous Coordination Centre (ICC)
  • People
  • La Perouse Aboriginal Community - Signatory

  • Glossary

    Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) (Australia)