Beausoleil First Nation

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Canadian Aboriginal Government
State/Country:Ontario, Canada
Summary Information:
Beausoleil First Nation rests in the southern tip of Georgian Bay on Christian, Beckwith and Hope Islands off the west coast of Ontario. These islands are home to the Chippewa people. The Beausoleil First Nation Council is composed of 1 Chief and 10 Councillors. The First Nation is then divided into different authorities, who have responsibility for a range of different matters related the First Nation, including:
  • Education, which includes offering educational services to members of the First Nation who live on and off reserve, from kindergarten to post-secondary;
  • Public works, including waste management and roads management;
  • Housing, which has responsibility for accommodating the housing needs of all members;
  • Social services, which has responsibility for child and family services, the seniors centre and youth services;
  • Lands management, which has responsibility for the protection and development of First Nation lands;
  • Transportation, which has responsibility to the community, including the operation of a ferry service to the mainland;
  • Economic development, which has responsibility for engaging chief and council, and the community as a whole in a range of programs aimed at securing the economic prosperity of the community; and
  • Health, through the Beausoleil Family Health Centre.

  • Related Entries

  • Anishnaabe Government Agreement - Signatory
  • Anishnaabe Government Agreement First Nation Ratification Process - Signatory
  • Organisation
  • United Anishnaabeg Councils - Member

  • Glossary

    First Nations People of Canada