Tiwi Indigenous Community

Category: People
Sub Category:Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander | Traditional Owner Group (Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act)
Place:Tiwi Islands
State/Country:Northern Territory, Australia
The Tiwi Islands are located approximately 60 kms north of Darwin.
URL: www.tilg.nt.gov.au/home
Summary Information:
The Tiwi Islands Comunity consists of four main communities (Wurankuwu with a population of approximately 50, Milikapiti with a population of approximately 400, Nguiu with a population of approximately 1450, and Pirlangimpi with a population of 335) across the Tiwi Islands. The Tiwi people's ownership of the islands to the low water mark has been recognised under the Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act, and is vested in the Tiwi Land Trust and managed by the Tiwi Land Council as directed by the traditional Aboriginal owners. The Tiwi people also formed the Tiwi Islands Local Government on 12 July 2001 to conduct local services and represent the interests of the Tiwi people.

Related Entries

  • Tiwi 'Social Wellbeing and Youth Development' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) - Signatory
  • Organisation
  • Tiwi Land Council
  • Tiwi Land Trust
  • Tiwi Islands Local Government
  • Tiwi Islands Shire Council

  • Glossary

    Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander (Australia) | Aboriginal Community Council (Australia) | Aboriginal Land Trust (Northern Territory) (Australia)