Barkly Shire Council

Category: Organisation
Date: 1 July 2008
Sub Category:Local Government
State/Country:Northern Territory, Australia
Subject Matter:Local Government
Summary Information:
The Barkly Shire Council was established 1st July 2008 as part of the large scale amalgamation process of particular community government councils in the Northern Territory. The existing community government councils were absorbed by eight new shire councils (Edgar, 247). As a result, the councils in Tennant Creek, Elliott District, Aherrenge, Ali Curung, and Alpurrurulam were all absorbed by the Barkly Shire (Shire website).
Detailed Information:
The Shire has 12 elected Councillors with responsibility for exercising local government functions over 323,514km2; which is the second largested local government area in the world. It has a resident population of 8,137, with 70% being Indigenous Australians (Shire website).

Related Entries

  • Ammaroo Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Organisation
  • Tennant Creek Town Council
  • Barkly Regional Council - Formerly known as
  • Legislation
  • Local Government Act 2008 (NT)
  • People
  • Indigenous Community of Tennant Creek

  • Glossary

    Aboriginal Community Council (Australia)