West Arnhem Shire

Category: Organisation
Date: 1 July 2008
Sub Category:Local Government
State/Country:Northern Territory, Australia
Subject Matter:Local Government
URL: http://www.westarnhem.nt.gov.au/
Summary Information:
The West Arnhem Shire was established 1st July 2008 as part of the large scale amalgamation process of particular community government councils in the Northern Territory. The existing community government councils were absorbed by eight new shire councils (Edgar, 247). The previous community government councils of Kunbarllanjnja, Maningrida, Jabiru, Warruwi and Minjilang were all amalgamated with the West Arnhem Shire.
Detailed Information:
The Shire consists of 12 elected Councillors and is responsible for exercising local government functions over four wards; the Barrah Ward, the Maningrida Ward, the Gunbalanya Ward, and the Kakadu Ward. In 2008, the Shire had a population of 6,591 (Shire website). 'Apart from the traditional local government services, the Council also funds, manages & maintains a wide range of community programs and projects. These programs focus on a regional approach so all community members can enjoy the benefits' (Shire website).

Related Entries

  • Minjilang Council - Previous
  • Warruwi Community Council
  • Jabiru Town Council
  • Legislation
  • Local Government Act 2008 (NT)
  • People
  • Maningrida Community
  • Warruwi Aboriginal Community
  • Minjilang Community

  • Glossary

    Local Government