Australian Local Government Association

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Local Government
State/Country:Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Alternative Names:
  • ALGA
  • URL:
    Summary Information:
    The Australian Local Government Association (then known as the Council of Australian Local Government Associations) was founded in 1947. It is a federation of associations in each of Australia's six States and the Northern Territory and the Government of the Australian Capital Territory. In 1976 the Association established a secretariat in the national capital. This move reflected growing links with the Commonwealth Government and an awareness of local government's emerging national role. The Association's policies are determined at its Annual General Meeting and by a National General Assembly of Local Government in Canberra. All councils can participate and vote on national issues. The General Assembly has a wide brief to consider policy directions and convey the views of councils to the Annual General Meeting and National Executive. The first General Assembly in 1994 produced the National Agenda for Local Government, a comprehensive statement of principles and policies on national issues affecting local communities. This was updated in 1995 and 1996 and underpins the Association's activities.

    Related Entries

  • National Agreement on Closing the Gap - Signatory
  • Event
  • Council of Australian Governments' Communiqué
  • Indigenous Issues Position Statement - Signatory
  • Ipswich City Council Indigenous Australian Accord
  • Ceduna Best Practice Statement
  • City of Port Phillip Statement of Commitment to Indigenous Australians
  • Policy/Strategy
  • National Framework of Principles for Delivering Services to Indigenous Australians
  • National Framework on Indigenous Family Violence and Child Protection
  • Framework to Advance Reconciliation

  • Glossary

    Local Government