First Peoples' Assembly of Victoria

Category: Organisation
Binomial Name: State of Victoria
Date: 10 September 2019
Sub Category:Representative Body

State/Country:Victoria, Australia
Subject Matter:Consultation | Law - Policy and Justice | Reconciliation
Summary Information:

The First Peoplesí Assembly of Victoria is the elected voice for Aboriginal people and communities in future Treaty discussions with the Victorian State.

Detailed Information:


In 2018, the Victorian Parliament enacted the Advancing the Treaty Process with Aboriginal Victorians Act 2018 (Vic).

On 25 September 2018, more than 400 Aboriginal Victorians attended a State-wide gathering to discuss the proposed Aboriginal Representative Body model (Victorian Treaty Advancement Commission, Statewide Gathering and Feedback Report).†

In February 2019, the Aboriginal Representative Body was named the First Peoplesí Assembly of Victoria. In August of the same year, over 70 Traditional Owners stood as candidates in the first-ever First Peoplesí Assembly election. The Assembly is made up of 32 seats: 21 are determined in a vote of Aboriginal communities, and 11 are reserved for the 11 formally recognised Traditional Owner groups.

The first meeting of the Assembly was held in the Victorian Parliament on 10 and 11 December 2019 (First Peoples' Assembly of Victoria, About Your Assembly).


The First Peoples' Assembly of Victoria will not negotiate a Treaty and/or Treaties with the State Government.

Rather, they will work with the State Government to create the Treaty Negotiation Framework for negotiations andto develop the rules and processes by which a Treaty/or Treaties can be agreed upon in Victoria (First Peoples' Assembly of Victoria, Our Work).†

The First Peoples' Assembly of Victoria focuses on the following six areas of work:

  • Cultural Governance;
  • Elders' Voice;
  • Self-determination Fund;
  • Treaty Authority;
  • Treaty Negotiation Framework; and
  • Truth-Telling (through the Yoo-rrook Justice Commission).

First Elected Members

The following list contains the names and represented Nations of the first elected members of the Assembly:†

  • Alice Pepper (Yorta Yorta, Mutti Mutti, Arrernte, Gunnai, Gunditjmara and Djab Wurrung)
  • Alister Thorpe (Gunai, Yorta Yorta and Gunditjmara)
  • Andrew Gardiner (Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung)
  • Carolyn Briggs AM (Boon Wurrung)
  • Charmaine Clarke (Gunditjmara)
  • Donna Wright (Kerrupmara / Gunditjmara Nation and Kamilaroi)
  • Dylan Clarke (Wotjobaluk)
  • Esmerelda Bamblett (Bangerang, Wiradjuri and Taungurung)
  • Geraldine Atkinson (Bangerang and Wiradjuri)
  • Jacinta Chaplin (Wadi Wadi)
  • Jamie Lowe (Gunditjmara)
  • Jason Kelly (Mutthi Mutthi and Wamba Wamba)
  • Jordan Edwards (Gunditjmara, Arrernte and Waddawurrung)
  • Kaylene Williamson (Gunai Kurnai)
  • Leanne Miller (Dhulanyagen Ulupna of the Yorta Yorta people)
  • Marcus Stewart (Taungurung)
  • Matthew Burns (Taungurung)
  • Melissa Jones (Latje Latje and Wotjabuluk)
  • Michael Bell (Gunditjmara)
  • Muriel Bamblett (Dja Dja Wurrung, Yorta Yorta)
  • Nartasha Bamblett (Yorta Yorta, Gunai Kurnai, Warlpiri and Wiradjeri)
  • Ngarra Murray (Wamba Wamba, Yorta Yorta, Dja Dja Wurrung, Dhudhuroa and Wiradjuri)
  • Peter Hood (Bangerang Kunai connections to Yorta Yorta, Taungurung and Wurundjeri)
  • Raylene Harradine (Latje Latje and Wotjabuluk)
  • Robert Ogden (Bunurong)
  • Rueben Berg (Gunditjmara)
  • Sean Fagan (Wadawurrung)
  • Tracey Evans (Gunditjmara)
  • Trent Nelson (Dja Dja Wurrung and Yorta Yorta)
  • Trevor Gallagher (Gunditjmara)
  • Troy McDonald (Gunai Kurnai)

Related Entries

  • Yoo-rrook Justice Commission
  • Victorian Treaty Advancement Commission
  • Legislation
  • Advancing the Treaty Process with Aboriginal Victorians Act 2018 (Vic)

  • References

    General Reference
    First Peoples' Assembly of Victoria About Your Assembly
    First Peoples' Assembly of Victoria Our Work
    Victorian Treaty Advancement Commission (December 2018) Statewide Gathering and Feedback Report