Cowra Indigenous People

Category: People
Place:Cowra, central western NSW
State/Country:New South Wales, Australia
Summary Information:
The Cowra area in central western New South Wales was originally inhabited by the Wiradjuri people. Wiradjuri country extends from the western slopes of the Great Dividing Range, and is bordered by the three rivers: Macquarie (Wambool), Lachlan (Kalari), and Murrumbidgee. The Cowra Shire Council and the Indigenous people of Cowra signed a Local Agreement in 1997 to improve relations between all members of the community.

Related Entries

  • Local Agreement between the Cowra Shire Council and Cowra Indigenous People - Signatory
  • Organisation
  • Cowra Shire Council
  • People
  • Wiradjuri People

  • Glossary

    Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander (Australia)