printable versionPrint this page

Local Agreement between Eurobodalla Shire Council and Aboriginal Community

Date: 1 January 1998
Sub Category:Framework Agreement
Place:South-east of New South Wales
State/Country:New South Wales, Australia
Subject Matter: | Cultural Heritage | Employment and Training | Environmental Heritage | Local Government
Summary Information:
The proposed Local Agreement between Eurobodalla Shire Council and the Eurobodalla Aboriginal Community was developed by the Department of Local Government and the Local Government and Shires Association. Workshops were held by the Department of Local Government and attended by representatives of Eurobodalla Shire Council and the local Aboriginal community in June 1998 to look at developing a local agreement to improve service delivery to the Aboriginal communities in the Eurobodalla Shire Council area.
Detailed Information:
In 1997 a number of comprehensive community consultations were held which identified issues that needed to be addressed in the areas of infrastructure and services, employment, heritage, rates, NAIDOC and libraries. The consultations were the outcome of a resolution from the Local Government Ministers' Conference of 1995 and were held between representatives of the NSW Department of Local Government, the state offices of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission, NSW Land Council, Department of Aboriginal Affairs and several Aboriginal Local Government councillors.
The aim of the consultations was to examine the services that were currently being provided by councils to Aboriginal communities. This was being undertaken in a number of selected council areas over a two year period. Local agreements were seen as being the best method to clarify local situations, define goals and lead to provision of adequate services.

Related Entries

  • Wallaga Lake ‘Place Based Approach’ Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Organisation
  • Eurobodalla Shire Council
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ATSIC)
  • New South Wales Aboriginal Land Council
  • Department of Local Government (NSW)
  • Local Government and Shires Associations of NSW
  • Department of Aboriginal Affairs (NSW)
  • Event
  • Commitment to Indigenous Australians by Eurobodalla Shire Council
  • People
  • Bugelli-Manji People
  • Eurobodalla Indigenous Community - Signatory
  • Yuin People

  • Glossary

    Framework Agreement

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey