printable versionPrint this page

The University of Sydney

Category: Organisation
Date: 1 January 1850
State/Country:New South Wales, Australia
Summary Information:
The University of Sydney ('the University') is Australia's first university, being established in 1850. According to its website, '[o]ver the past 150 years, the University has built an international reputation for its outstanding teaching and as a centre of research excellence.

In terms of governance, '[t]he University is self-governing, with a Senate comprising graduates, staff, students, and State Government appointees. It is legally responsible to the State, but receives its grants from the Federal Government. Government decisions, both at State and Federal level, influence the University's own policies.'

The University is a member of the Group of Eight. In 2006, it consisted of 17 faculties.

Related Entries

  • Memorandum of Understanding between the NSW Government, South Sydney City Council, the University of Sydney and the Aboriginal Housing Company Ltd - Signatory

  • Google
    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey