printable versionPrint this page

Yorke Island Council

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Local Government
Place:Yorke Island, Torres Strait
State/Country:Queensland, Australia
Alternative Names:
  • Masig Island Council
  • Summary Information:
    The Masig (Yorke) Island Council (the Council) was one of twenty island and Aboriginal councils of the Torres Strait in Queensland. It was located 140 kilometres north east of Thursday Island and covered an area of 168 hectares.

    The area was controlled by the Council under the provisions of the Community Services (Torres Strait) Act 1984 (Qld) and the Community Services (Aboriginal) Act 1984 (Qld). Land tenure was controlled in the form of Deeds of Grant in Trust.

    The Council was, however, absorbed by the Torres Strait Islands Regional Council in 2008 as part of the State government's amalgamation policy.

    Related Entries

  • Masigalgal / Ergon Energy Electricity Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Yorke Island (Masig) / Telstra Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Masig People v State of Queensland [2000] FCA 1067 AND Damuth People v State of Queensland (7 July 2000)
  • Organisation
  • Torres Strait Island Regional Council
  • Legislation
  • Community Services (Torres Strait) Act 1984 (Qld)
  • Community Services (Aborigines) Act 1984 (Qld)

  • Glossary

    Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey