printable versionPrint this page

Mer Island Council

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Local Government
Place:Mer Island, Torres Strait
State/Country:Queensland, Australia
Alternative Names:
  • Mer Community Council
  • Murray Island Council
  • Summary Information:
    The Mer (Murray) Island Council (the Council) was one of over twenty island and Aboriginal councils of the Torres Strait in Queensland. It was located at the eastern end of Torres Strait at the top of the Great Barrier Reef.

    The area was controlled by the Council under the provisions of the Community Services (Torres Strait) Act 1984 (Qld) and the Community Services (Aboriginal) Act 1984 (Qld). Land tenure is controlled in the form of Deeds of Grant in Trust. The Council is responsible for roads, water, housing and community events.

    However, the Council was absorbed by the Torres Strait Islands Regional Council in 2008 as part of the State government's amalgamation policy.

    Related Entries

  • Australian Customs Service Antenna Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Ergon - Mer Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Organisation
  • Torres Strait Island Regional Council
  • Legislation
  • Community Services (Aborigines) Act 1984 (Qld)
  • Community Services (Torres Strait) Act 1984 (Qld)

  • Glossary

    Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey