printable versionPrint this page

Mackay City Council

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Local Government
State/Country:Queensland, Australia
Summary Information:
Mackay City Council is split into nine electoral divisions with Divisions One, Five and Six represented by two councillors because of their larger populations. The management and development of Council resources and services is guided by a Committee structure comprised of Standing Committees. The Committees make recommendations directly to the full Council. All Councillors are represented on the four Standing Committees.
Mackay has over 78,000 residents and is positioned 400 kilometres north of the Tropic of Capricorn, with its boundaries extending from Alligator Creek in the south to the O'Connell River in the north.
It covers an area of 2820 square kilometres on the mainland and a further 100 square kilometres of islands, including Lindeman, Brampton, Keswick and St Bees.

Related Entries

  • Mackay Harbour Beach Park Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) - Signatory
  • Eastpoint Mackay Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)

  • Glossary

    Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey