printable versionPrint this page

Northern Grampians Shire

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Local Government
Place:Northern Grampians
State/Country:Victoria, Australia
Summary Information:
'The Northern Grampians Shire was created by Order of the Governor-in-Council on January 20, 1995.

The Shire has an area of 5,903 square kilometres and a population of over 13,155. It consists of the former City of Stawell, the former Town of St Arnaud, the former Shire of Stawell, the former Shire of Kara Kara and small areas of five other municipalities.

The administration centre of the Shire is at Stawell, approximately two and a half hours drive along the Western Highway from Melbourne. Other centres include St Arnaud, Halls Gap, Great Western, Marnoo, Glenorchy and Navarre.

The focus of the Shire is the Grampians with communities sharing a wide range of activities and interests including a variety of agriculture, landcare and catchment management, tourism, wine production, gold mining and the commercial centres of Stawell and St Arnaud.

The Northern Grampians Shire plays host to several major industries and with the close proximity to major transport links and effective information technology and communication infrastructures, is in an ideal position to provide facilities for economic growth and expansion.

Tourism is vitally important to the region and the Grampians National Park is a major domestic and national tourist destination. Apart from the natural beauty of the Grampians, major lakes including Bellfield, Lonsdale, Fyans and Batyo Catyo are major attractions within the Shire, as are the major wineries around Great Western, St Arnaud and Stawell.' (Northern Grampians Shire website, 'Northern Grampians Shire: About the Northern Grampians Shire')

Related Entries

  • Carapooee West Dam Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Wotjobaluk, Jaadwa, Jadawadjali Wergaia and Jupagulk Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Low Impact Exploration and Exploration, Dja Dja Wurrung Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Gariwerd Non-Extinguishment Principle Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)

  • Glossary

    Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey