printable versionPrint this page

Yarrowlumla Shire Council

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Local Government
State/Country:New South Wales, Australia
Summary Information:
The original Shire of Yarrowlumla is located in the southeast of New South Wales. It surrounds the Australian Capital Territory and the city of Queanbeyan. It adjoins seven local government areas, Gunning, Yass, Cooma-Monaro, Tumut, Mulwaree, Tallaganda and Queanbeyan. The Shire is part of the Australian Capital Territory sub-region that includes Queanbeyan City Council, Yass Council, Gunning Council, Cooma-Monaro Council and the Australian Capital Territory. It is estimated that the population of this region will reach between 450,000 and 500,000 in 2023.

Since the announcement of new local government areas in 2004 however, parts of the Shire of Yarrowlumla have now been subsumed within other City Council areas including Cooma Monaro, Greater Queanbeyan, Palerang, Tumut and Yass Valley. As such the Yarrowlumla Shire has ceased to exist as a separate entity.

Related Entries

  • Tumut Brungle Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)

  • Glossary

    Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey