printable versionPrint this page

Yuin People

Category: People
Sub Category:Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander
Place:South-eastern NSW
State/Country:New South Wales, Australia
Alternative Names:
  • Djuwin People
  • Summary Information:
    AIATSIS Thesaurus language code and map grid reference: (S67) (NSW SI56-13)

    For more information, refer to the AIATSIS Thesauri (see reference below).

    Yuin is the general or generic name for all tribes from Merimbula to Port Jackson. The Yuin or Coast Murring occupied territory from Cape Howe to the Shoalhaven River and inland to the Great Dividing Range. The population pre-1788 was estimated at about 11,000 between Cape Howe and Batemans Bay, comprising two main tribes, Walbanja and Dyiringanj. As a result of smallpox epidemics, tribal battles and venereal disease from whalers, the population is believed to have reduced by 95 percent, leaving only 600 survivors by the mid 1800s. Currently, the Yuin are considered the traditional owners of Wallaga Lake land.

    Related Entries

  • Memorandum of Understanding between Bega, Eden and Merrimans Aboriginal Land Councils and The Native Title Holders and The Bega Valley Shire Council
  • Local Agreement between Eurobodalla Shire Council and Aboriginal Community
  • Biamanga National Park Lease Agreement
  • Gulaga National Park Lease Agreement
  • Biamanga and Gulaga National Parks Land Transfer
  • Wagonga Local Aboriginal Land Council v Attorney General of New South Wales [2020] FCA 1113
  • Organisation
  • Merrimans Local Aboriginal Land Council
  • Eurobodalla Shire Council
  • Event
  • Commitment to Indigenous Australians by Eurobodalla Shire Council
  • People
  • Eurobodalla Indigenous Community

  • References

    Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) (2020) Language and Peoples Thesaurus 2020


    Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey