printable versionPrint this page

City of Sydney

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Local Government
State/Country:New South Wales, Australia
Summary Information:

The City of Sydney states that it is 'a capital city council which is responsible for the commercial, financial and cultural hub of the greater Sydney area.'

The City of Sydney Council comprises 10 Councillors. The Office of the Lord Mayor and the Office of the Chief Executive Officer preside over the activities of the City.

The City of Sydney Local Government Area (LGA) consists of about 26.15 square kilometres in Central Sydney. This area 'includes the Central Business District (CBD), The Rocks, Millers Point, Dawes Point, Chippendale, Ultimo and Pyrmont, Glebe and Forest lodge, Woolloomooloo, Kings Cross, Potts Point, Rushcutters Bay, Elizabeth Bay, Darlinghurst, the University of Sydney, Darling Harbour, the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital and parts of Surry Hills.' The area accommodates about 150,000 residents, 350,000 workers and over 450,000 daily visitors.

Council offices are located in the CBD and at Kings Cross, Erskineville, Glebe and Redfern.

Related Entries

  • Principles of Cooperation between the Metropolitan Local Aboriginal Land Council and the City of Sydney - Signatory

  • Glossary

    Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey