printable versionPrint this page

Latrobe City Council

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Local Government
State/Country:Victoria, Australia
Summary Information:
The Latrobe Shire was created on 2 December, 1994 with the amalgamation of the former Cities of Moe, Morwell, and Traralgon, the Shire of Traralgon, and parts of the Shires of Rosedale and Narracan. It is the third largest municipality outside metropolitan Melbourne and Geelong with over 71,000 residents.
The municipality encompasses an area of 1,422 square kilometres and takes its name from the Administrator and later Lieutenant Governor of the Colony of Victoria, Charles Joseph La Trobe.

Related Entries

  • Braiakaulung Advisory Committee
  • Event
  • Latrobe City Statement of Commitment to Indigenous People and Statement of Reconciliation - Signatory

  • Glossary

    Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey