printable versionPrint this page

Aboriginal Lands Trust Act 1966 (SA)

Category: Legislation
Binomial Name: State of South Australia
Sub Category:Legislation
State/Country:South Australia, Australia
Subject Matter:Cultural Heritage | Native Title | Recognition of Native Title or Traditional Ownership
Summary Information:

The Aboriginal Lands Trust Act 1966 (the Act) is an 'Act to establish an Aboriginal Lands Trust, to define the powers and functions thereof, for purposes incidental thereto and for other purposes' (long title).

The Act established the South Australian Aboriginal Lands Trust and sets out the provisions dealing with its composition, staffing, powers and financial arrangements.

The Act was the first attempt by an Australian Government to grant Aborigines title to land. The Trust was created to ensure that:

  • Title to existing Aboriginal reserves remained with Aborigines;
  • Mineral royalty payments were received, with which more land could be purchased; and
  • Funds were received to develop lands vested in the Trust.

Following the transfer of Aboriginal reserves and other areas of land to the Trust in an estate of fee simple, the Trust leased the land back to the Aboriginal communities at nominal rates for 99-year, repeatedly renewable periods. Yalata (4516 square kilometres) and Nantawarrina (580 square kilometres) are the largest areas in the 5383 square kilometres of Trust land. Under the Act, the Trust is able, with Ministerial agreement, to sell, lease or mortgage the land vested in it. The sale of land requires the consent of both Houses of Parliament.

In 1975, 890 Hectares of land was leased back to the Koonibba Community Council on a 99-year lease. A number of smaller blocks have been sub-leased to family groups.

In 1976, the Yalata Community became an incorporated body and a 99-year lease was granted to them from the Trust for Yalata lands.

Related Entries

  • Sumner v State of South Australia (Ngarrindjeri Native Title Claim Part A) [2017] FCA 1514
  • Organisation
  • State of South Australia
  • Aboriginal Lands Trust (SA)
  • Coorong District Council
  • Legislation
  • Maralinga Tjarutja Land Rights Act 1984 (SA)
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Land Rights Act 1981 (SA)
  • Aboriginal Lands Trust Act 2013 (SA)
  • People
  • Mirning People
  • Wirangu People
  • Yalata People

  • References

    South Australian Consolidated Acts (1966) Aboriginal Lands Trust Act 1966 (SA)



    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey