printable versionPrint this page

Maralinga Tjarutja Land Rights Act 1984 (SA)

Category: Legislation
Binomial Name: State of South Australia
Sub Category:Legislation
State/Country:South Australia, Australia
Subject Matter:Cultural Heritage | Native Title | Recognition of Native Title or Traditional Ownership | Land Transaction | Compensation
Summary Information:
The Maralinga Tjarutja Land Rights Act 1984 (SA) (the Act) granted freehold title to an area of about 81,373 square kilometres (or about 7.7 percent of the State of South Australia) to Maralinga Tjarutja, a corporate body established under the Act, of which all traditional owners are members. Maralinga Tjarutja holds the land in fee simple. The land cannot be sold, compulsorily acquired, resumed or forfeited, nor is land tax payable.

Whilst generally similar to the Pitjantjatjara Land Rights Act which came before it, there are a number of differences, one of which is significant to exploration companies. The Maralinga Tjarutja Land Rights Act limits the payment of compensation for exploration operations disturbance to the lands and the Aboriginal people and their ways of life, to an amount no greater than compensation as provided for under the Mining Act 1971 (SA) and Petroleum Act 2000 (SA).

Related Entries

  • State of South Australia
  • Maralinga Tjarutja Council
  • Oak Valley (Maralinga) Inc.
  • Maralinga Piling Trust
  • Event
  • Maralinga Tjarutja Land Transfer
  • Unnamed Conservation Park Land Transfer
  • Maralinga Tjarutja handback
  • Legislation
  • Aboriginal Lands Trust Act 1966 (SA)
  • Mining Act 1971 (SA)
  • Petroleum Act 2000 (SA)
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Land Rights Act 1981 (SA)
  • People
  • Southern Pitjantjatjara People

  • References

    South Australian Consolidated Acts (1984) Maralinga Tjarutja Land Rights Act 1984 (SA)



    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey