printable versionPrint this page

Far West Coast (SA) Working Group

Category: Organisation
Date: 1 January 1996
Sub Category:Aboriginal Corporation
State/Country:South Australia, Australia
Summary Information:
The Far West Coast Working Group is made up of five Aboriginal claimant groups including the Mirning, Wirangu, Maralinga Tjarutja, Yalata and Yabi Dinah who came together to negotiate regional agreements with mining companies.
The agreements allow the mining companies to start the first stage of exploration which includes testing the soil for minerals including gold, copper, lead and zinc while protecting and respecting the cultural interests of Aboriginal people in the area.

Related Entries

  • Far West Coast (SA) Working Group Agreement
  • Agreement between the Far West Coast Native Title Group and Iluka Resources - Signatory
  • Organisation
  • Aboriginal Legal Rights Movement Inc
  • Maralinga Tjarutja Council - Aboriginal Representative Party
  • People
  • Mirning People - Aboriginal Representative Party
  • Wirangu People - Aboriginal Representative Party
  • Yalata People - Aboriginal Representative Party
  • Yabi Dinah People - Aboriginal Representative Party

  • References

    Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (1996) Aboriginal Groups and Miners Strike a Deal in South Australia


    Aboriginal Corporation (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey