printable versionPrint this page

Indigenous Land Corporation

Category: Organisation
Date: 1 January 1995
Sub Category:Statutory Body
Summary Information:
The Indigenous Land Corporation (ILC) is an independent Commonwealth statutory authority which was established in 1995.The ILC has a seven member board, which is appointed by the Minister for Immigration, Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs. The Chairperson and at least four other members must be Indigenous. The ILC receives its funding from the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Land Fund.

The ILC's two main functions are to assist Indigenous peoples in Australia to acquire land and to manage Indigenous-held land in a sustainable way to provide cultural, social, economic or environmental benefits for themselves and for future generations.
Detailed Information:
The ILC has four land acquisition programs.
- The Cultural Acquisition Program (CAP): provides benefits by acquiring culturally significant land;
- The Social Acquisition Program (SAP): acquires land for a range of social benefits;
- The Environmental Program (EAP): acquires land that provides environmental benefits. It is expected that most environmental acquisitions will be joint ventures, usually in partnership with State, Commonwealth or other environmental authorities and agencies; and
- The Economic Acquisition Program (ECAP): acquires land to achieve economic benefits from sustainable land-based businesses.

The ILC has purchased land in all States and the Northern Territory.

Related Entries

  • Mimosa Aerial Control Agreement - Signatory
  • Memorandum of Understanding between Indigenous Land Corporation and Department of the Environment and Heritage - Signatory
  • Memorandum of Understanding between the Indigenous Land Corporation, the Northern and Central Land Councils and the Northern Territory Government - Signatory
  • Memorandum of Understanding between the Indigenous Land Corporation and Macquarie Bank - Signatory
  • Memorandum of Understanding between the Indigenous Land Corporation, Central Land Council, Northern Land Council, NT Cattlemen's Association, NT Government and Commonwealth Department of Employment and Workplace Relations - Signatory
  • Hooker Creek Aboriginal Land Trust Lease Agreement
  • Kombumerri 'Community and Beenleigh Youth' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) - Signatory
  • Metro Adelaide ‘Cultural Exchange’ Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) - Signatory
  • Organisation
  • Commonwealth of Australia
  • Indigenous Land Fund
  • National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Land Fund
  • Ngarang Wal Land Council - Collaborator
  • Girringun and Elders Reference Group Aboriginal Corporation
  • Legislation
  • Native Title Act 1993 (Cth)
  • Place
  • Yalata Indigenous Protected Area
  • Wattleridge Indigenous Protected Area
  • Toogimbie Indigenous Protected Area
  • Mount Willoughby Indigenous Protected Area
  • Policy/Strategy
  • Indigenous Pastoral Program - Partner

  • References

    Indigenous Land Corporation (1999) Indigenous Land Corporation Annual Report 1998-1999


    Statutory Body

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey