printable versionPrint this page

Cobourg Peninsula Aboriginal Land and Sanctuary Act 1981 (NT)

Category: Legislation
Binomial Name: Northern Territory Government
Sub Category:Legislation
State/Country:Northern Territory, Australia
Alternative Names:
  • Gurig National Park Act
  • Summary Information:
    The Cobourg Peninsula Aboriginal Land, Sanctuary and Marine Park Act 1996 (NT) (the Act) acknowledges and secures the right of Aboriginal people to occupy and use certain land on the Cobourg Peninsula in the Northern Territory. The land is vested in perpetuity in the Cobourg Peninsula Sanctuary Land Trust in trust for the traditional owners.
    The Act establishes that the land is a national park (Gurig National Park) for the benefit and enjoyment of all people, subject to certain provisions relating to the management of adjacent marine areas.
    Title to the sanctuary vested in the Land Trust cannot be sold, transferred, mortgaged or otherwise dealt with except by way of lease or licence in pursuance of the plan of management.
    Detailed Information:
    The establishment of the Gurig National Park was agreed to by the Northern Territory Government and the Aboriginal traditional owners to resolve a pending land claim under the Aboriginal Land Rights (NT) Act (Cth). Rather than proceeding with the claim, the traditional owners consented to the establishment of the National Park in return for regaining title to their traditional lands.
    Under the Act, the Cobourg Peninsula Sanctuary Board was established. The Board comprises eight members, four traditional owners and four representatives of the Northern Territory Government. It is chaired by one of the traditional owner members who also has a casting vote. The functions of the Board are to:
    - Prepare plans of management;
    - Protect and enforce the rights of the traditional owner group to use and occupy the Park;
    - Determine, in accordance with the plan of management, the rights of access to parts of the sanctuary by persons who are not members of the traditional owner group;
    - Ensure adequate protection of sites in the Park of spiritual or other significance in Aboriginal tradition;
    - Make by-laws with respect to the management of the Park;
    - Other functions as imposed on the Board by the plan of management.

    The responsibility for the control and management of the Park rests with the Parks and Wildlife Commission of the Northern Territory (previously the Conservation Commission) which acts on behalf of and subject to the Board of management.
    An annual fee of (AUD) $20 000 (set in 1981 and increasing annually) is payable by the Northern Territory Government to the traditional owners for use of their land as a National Park.

    Related Entries

  • Northern Territory of Australia
  • Northern Land Council
  • Cobourg Peninsula Sanctuary Land Trust
  • Parks and Wildlife Commission of the Northern Territory
  • Legislation
  • Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976 (Cth)
  • Cobourg Peninsula Aboriginal Land, Sanctuary and Marine Park Act 1996 (NT) - Formerly known as
  • Aboriginal Land Act 1992 (NT)
  • Territory Parks and Wildlife Conservation Act 1978 (NT)
  • Place
  • Garig Gunak Barlu National Park

  • References

    Northern Territory Consolidated Legislation (1996) Cobourg Peninsula Aboriginal Land, Sanctuary and Marine Park Act 1996 (NT)



    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey