Back to search results

printable versionPrint this page

Tjurabalan Community Participation Agreement

Date: 1 July 2003
Sub Category:Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
Place:East Kimberley Region
State/Country:Western Australia, Australia
Alternative Names:
  • East Kimberely COAG trial
  • Subject Matter: | Health and Community Services | Law - Policy and Justice
    Summary Information:
    Federal, State and local governments and the communities that make up the Tjurabalan region in the east Kimberley of Western Australia have agreed to work together under the Council of Australian Governments' (COAG) whole of government approach to improve the outcomes for Indigenous communities. The agreement for coordination of services will make the Tjurabalan region the first Western Australian region to reach a COAG agreement as part of the nationwide trial. The agreement involves five communities including Billiluna, Yakka Yakka, Balgo, Kundat Djaru and Mulan, which make up the Tjurabalan native title area determined by consent with the State Government in August 2001.
    Detailed Information:
    The trial, announced on the 2 July 2003 follows a decision of COAG in April 2002 to identify up to 10 Indigenous Communities for a new coordinated approach where governments and communities work together to develop more flexible programmes and services based on each community's priorities.
    Justice and associated issues of alcohol misuse and violence have been identified by communities as the most important issues for the people of Tjurabalan and the wider region. An initial focus will be to create safer communities by establishing a permanent police presence in the region, to be based at Balgo. The mainstream justice services will be complemented by a series of community forums involving all levels of government to foster community participation in justice and policing matters.

    A key issue identified is the need for Aboriginal people to be in a position to take responsibility for the management and long term planning of their communities. This means that the communities must invest in building capacity and developing effective governance.
    Communities in Tjurabalan and the region are planning to hold a series of bush meetings to identify local approaches to these issues.

    The Commonwealth Department of Transport and Regional Affairs, the Western Australian Department of Indigenous Affairs and the Halls Creek Shire Council will take lead roles in coordinating across government agencies and working with the community.

    Related Entries

  • Statement of Commitment to a New and Just Relationship between the Government of Western Australia and Aboriginal Western Australians
  • Ngalpil v State of Western Australia [2001] FCA 1140 (20 August 2001)
  • Murdi Paaki Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Wadeye Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Greater Shepparton Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • ACT Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Lockhart River 'Empower the Community' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Hope Vale 'Partnership' Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Billiluna 'Community Facilities' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Billiluna 'Healthy Activities' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Balgo 'Structured Activities for Young People' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Ringers Soak (Kundat Djaru) 'Activities for Young People' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Mulan 'Economic Strength and Healthy Kids' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Mulan 'Healthy Activities for Young People' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Mulan 'Renovate the Cultural Centre' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Organisation
  • Council of Australian Governments
  • Tjurabalan Native Title Land Aboriginal Corporation RNTBC
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ATSIC)
  • Halls Creek Shire
  • Commonwealth of Australia
  • State of Western Australia
  • Department of Indigenous Affairs (WA)
  • Department of Transport and Regional Services (Cth)
  • Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination (Cth)
  • Event
  • Council of Australian Governments' Communiqué
  • People
  • Billiluna Aboriginal Community
  • Yakka Yakka Aboriginal Community
  • Balgo Aboriginal Community
  • Kundat Djaru Aboriginal Community
  • Mulan Aboriginal Community
  • Place
  • Paraku Indigenous Protected Area
  • Policy/Strategy
  • Whole of Government Initiatives
  • Cape York COAG Trial
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Lands COAG Trial
  • North Eastern Tasmania COAG Trial

  • References

    Department of Transport and Regional Services (2003) A new partnership between Indigenous communities and government
    Conference Paper
    Ruth McCausland (2005) Petrol bowsers for washing kids' faces: a 'new conversation' in Indigenous policy
    Media Release
    Minister for Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs (2003) Tjurabalan and Region Indigenous Communities Join COAG Trial
    News Item
    Mark Metherell (2005) Caring now means sharing responsibility


    Framework Agreement | Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey