printable versionPrint this page

Waitangi Tribunal

Category: Organisation
Date: 1 January 1975
Sub Category:Statutory Body
State/Country:Aotearoa - New Zealand
Summary Information:
The Waitangi Tribunal was established in 1975 by the Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975. It is a permanent commission of inquiry charged with inquiring into Maori claims relating to the Treaty of Waitangi. The Tribunal comprises up to 16 members, who are appointed by the Governor-General on the recommendation of the Minister of Maori Affairs, for their expertise in the matters that are likely to come before them. It also has a chairperson, who is either a judge or a retired judge of the High Court or the chief judge of the Maori Land Court, and a deputy chairperson, who is a judge of the Maori Land Court. Approximately half the members are Maori and half are Pakeha (European Settlers).
The role of the Tribunal is set out in the Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975, and its amendments which includes inquiring into and making recommendations upon any claim properly submitted to the Tribunal; examining and reporting on any proposed legislation referred to the Tribunal by the House of Representatives or a Minister of the Crown; and making recommendations or determinations in respect of certain Crown forest land, railways land, State-owned enterprise land, and land transferred to educational institutions.

Related Entries

  • Treaty of Waitangi
  • Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Settlement
  • Te Uri o Hau Deed of Settlement
  • Ngati Tuwharetoa (Bay Of Plenty) Deed of Settlement
  • Ngati Ruanui Deed of Settlement
  • Ngati Awa Deed of Settlement
  • Ngati Tama Deed of Settlement
  • Ngati Mutunga Deed of Settlement
  • Te Arawa (Lakes) Deed of Settlement
  • Ngati Turangitukua Deed of Settlement
  • Te Roroa Deed of Settlement
  • Waikato-Tainui Deed of Settlement
  • Ngati Rangiteaorere Agreement
  • Rotoma Deed of Agreement
  • Waimakuku Deed of Agreement
  • Ngati Whakaue Deed of Agreement
  • Waiohau Deed of Settlement
  • Rangitaiki 60C Deed of Settlement
  • Pukaahu (Awakeri Springs) Deed of Settlement
  • Hauai Deed of Settlement
  • Waitomo Deed of Settlement
  • Te Maunga Lands Deed of Agreement
  • Ngaa Rauru Kiitahi Deed of Settlement
  • Affiliate Te Arawa Deed of Settlement
  • Ngaa Rauru Kiitahi Deed of Agreement
  • Ngai Tâmanuhiri Initialled Deed of Settlement
  • Organisation
  • Office of Treaty Settlements
  • Event
  • Declaration of Independence of New Zealand
  • Legislation
  • Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975 (NZ)
  • Treaty of Waitangi (Fisheries Claims) Settlement Act 1992 (NZ)

  • Glossary

    Statutory Body

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey