printable versionPrint this page

Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commission

Category: Organisation
Date: 1 January 1992
Sub Category:Statutory Body
State/Country:Aotearoa - New Zealand
Alternative Names:
  • Te Ohu Kai Moana (TOKM)
  • URL:
    Summary Information:
    As part of the Treaty of Waitangi (Fisheries Claims) Settlement Act 1992, the Te Ohu Kai Moana (TOKM) or Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commission was established. It replaced the Maori Fisheries Commission, established in 1989, with the primary task of holding fisheries assets returned to Maori by the Crown, and to develop a method for allocating these according to the provisions of the Act and the Deed of Settlement.
    The Commission is further responsible for ensuring the widest possible Iwi representation in the legislative process, and significantly contributes to New Zealand fisheries policy and management.

    Related Entries

  • Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Settlement
  • Treaty of Waitangi
  • Organisation
  • New Zealand Government
  • Legislation
  • Treaty of Waitangi (Fisheries Claims) Settlement Act 1992 (NZ)
  • Maori Fisheries Act 1989 (NZ)
  • Maori Fisheries Act 2004 (NZ)

  • Glossary

    Statutory Body

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey