printable versionPrint this page

New Zealand Government

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Federal Government
State/Country:Aotearoa - New Zealand
Summary Information:
New Zealand is a constitutional monarchy. The Queen of New Zealand, Queen Elizabeth II, is the Head of State. The Queen's representative in this country is the Governor-General who has all the powers of the Queen in relation to New Zealand. Although an integral part of the process of government, the Queen and the Governor-General remain politically neutral and do not get involved in the political contest.

New Zealand government has three branches: the Legislature, the Executive and the Judiciary. Power is divided between these branches, preventing any one from acting against the basic constitutional principles of the country. Although each branch has a different role, they are not totally separate from each other.
Detailed Information:
New Zealand has a single chamber of Parliament known as the House of Representatives. The principal functions of Parliament are to:
- enact laws;
- provide a government;
- supervise the government's administration;
- allocate funding for government agencies and services;
- redress grievances by way of petition.

Parliament is elected using the mixed member proportional (MMP) system. The Government is formed after an election by the party or coalition which can command a majority of the votes in the House of Representatives. The leader of the winning party becomes Prime Minister.

The Government is accountable to Parliament for its actions and policies. So Ministers are answerable to Parliament for their own actions and policies and for the actions and policies of the departments and state agencies under their jurisdiction.

Most Ministers are members of Cabinet, which is the main decision-making body of the government.

Much of the business of government is performed by ministries, government departments and other government agencies who are collectively known as the public sector.

In New Zealand the courts function is based on the constitutional principle that the judicial decision makers, the Judiciary, are independent of the policy makers, the Executive and Parliament. Judges make decisions by interpreting the laws which are passed by Parliament. Parliament passes laws that represent policy decisions which reflect the intention or interests of the citizens collectively. Hence the laws, once passed, are to be enforced as the formal expression of society's standards.

Related Entries

  • Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Settlement
  • Treaty of Waitangi
  • Te Uri o Hau Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Ngai Tahu Deed of Settlement
  • Pouakani Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Ngati Tuwharetoa (Bay Of Plenty) Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Ngati Ruanui Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Ngati Tama Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Ngati Awa Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Ngati Mutunga Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Te Arawa (Lakes) Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Ngati Turangitukua Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Te Roroa Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Waikato-Tainui Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Ngati Rangiteaorere Agreement - Signatory
  • Rotoma Deed of Agreement - Signatory
  • Waimakuku Deed of Agreement - Signatory
  • Ngati Whakaue Deed of Agreement - Signatory
  • Waiohau Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Rangitaiki 60C Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Hauai Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Ngaa Rauru Kiitahi Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Affiliate Te Arawa Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Ngaa Rauru Kiitahi Deed of Agreement - Signatory
  • Waitomo Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Te Maunga Lands Deed of Agreement - Signatory
  • Pukaahu (Awakeri Springs) Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Central North Island Forests Iwi Collective Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Maniapoto Deed in relation to Co-governance and Co-management of the Waipa River - Signatory
  • Waikato River Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Maraeroa A and B Block Initialled Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Ngai Tâmanuhiri Initialled Deed of Settlement - Signatory
  • Organisation
  • Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commission
  • Housing New Zealand Corporation
  • Legislation
  • Treaty of Waitangi (Fisheries Claims) Settlement Act 1992 (NZ)
  • Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975 (NZ)
  • Te Uri o Hau Settlement Act 2002 (NZ)
  • Conservation Act 1987 (NZ)
  • Fishing (Amateur Fishing) Regulations 1983 (NZ)
  • Maori Land Act 1993 (NZ)
  • Pouakani Claims Settlement Act 2000 (NZ)
  • Ngati Ruanui Claims Settlement Act 2003 (NZ)
  • Te Runanga o Ngati Awa Act 1988 (NZ)
  • Ngai Tahu Claims Settlement Act 1998 (NZ)
  • Ngai Tahu (Pounamu Vesting) Act 1997 (NZ)
  • Ngai Tahu (Tutaepatu Lagoon Vesting) Act 1998 (NZ)
  • Maori Fisheries Act 2004 (NZ)
  • New Zealand Settlements Act 1863
  • Ngati Mutunga Claims Settlement Act 2006 (NZ)
  • Te Arawa Lakes Settlement Act 2006

  • Glossary

    Federal Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey