printable versionPrint this page

Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park

Category: Place
Sub Category:National Park
Place:Central Australia
State/Country:Northern Territory, Australia
Summary Information:
'This park, formerly called Uluru (Ayers Rock - Mount Olga) National Park, features spectacular geological formations that dominate the vast red sandy plain of central Australia. Uluru, an immense monolith, and Kata Tjuta, the rock domes located west of Uluru, form part of the traditional belief system of one of the oldest human societies in the world. The traditional owners of Uluru-Kata Tjuta are the Anangu Aboriginal people.'

Related Entries

  • Uluru - Kata Tjuta National Park Memorandum of Lease
  • Organisation
  • Uluru - Kata Tjuta Aboriginal Land Trust
  • Parks and Wildlife Commission of the Northern Territory
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Land Management (APY)
  • Event
  • Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park Plan of Management
  • Uluru-Kata Tjuta Handback
  • Legislation
  • Parks and Wildlife Commission Act 1980 (NT)
  • Territory Parks and Wildlife Conservation Act 1978 (NT)

  • References

    Department of the Environment and Heritage (2000) Uluru - Kata Tjuta National Park Plan of Management

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey