printable versionPrint this page

Wollongong City Council

Category: Organisation
Date: 1 January 1947
Sub Category:Local Government
State/Country:New South Wales, Australia
Summary Information:
Wollongong City Council is a local government organisation responsible for a community of 178,000 people, located just south of Sydney in the Illawarra region of New South Wales.

The Wollongong City Council area was created in 1947 when four local government areas - the Shire of Bulli, Shire of Central Illawarra, Municipality of Wollongong, and the Municipality of Northern Illawarra - amalgamated to form the City of Greater Wollongong, which today is simply known as the city of Wollongong.

Since the city's incorporation in 1947, Wollongong City Council has grown into one of the largest local government authorities in Australia employing around 1000 staff with an annual budget expenditure of approximately $150 million.

Related Entries

  • Wollongong City Council Statement Of Reconciliation and Commitment

  • Glossary

    Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey