printable versionPrint this page

Government of Nunavut

Category: Organisation
Date: 1 April 1999
Sub Category:Canadian Aboriginal Government
State/Country:Nunavut, Canada
Summary Information:
Nunavut (the Inuktitut word for our land) was created on the 1 April 1999 as a result of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement. It is a territory that spans the two million square kilometres of Canada extending north and west of Hudson's Bay, above the tree line to the North Pole. Inuit represent about 85 percent of the population, and form the foundation of the Territory's culture. Government, business and day-to-day life are shaped by Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit, the traditional knowledge, values and wisdom of Nunavut's founding people.

Related Entries

  • Nunavut Land Claims Agreement
  • Organisation
  • Environmental Monitoring Advisory Board for the Diavik Diamond Mine - Member
  • Legislation
  • Nunavut Act 1993
  • Policy/Strategy
  • Clyde River Protocol - Signatory
  • Meech Lake Constitutional Accord 1987
  • Charlottetown Accord 1992

  • References

    The Solon Law Archive (1987) Meech Lake Constitutional Accord
    Centre for Constitutional Studies (2003) Constitutional Keywords: Meech Lake Accord
    Government of Nunavut and Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (1999) Clyde River Protocol
    Government of Nunavut Our Land


    Canadian Aboriginal Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey