printable versionPrint this page

Bowen Shire Council

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Local Government
State/Country:Queensland, Australia
Summary Information:

The Bowen Shire covers an area of 21,085 square kilometres and includes the principal towns of Bowen and Collinsville and the smaller townships of Mt Coolon, Scottville, Heronvale, Merinda, Gumlu and Guthalungra. The population of the Shire of Bowen is 14,411 which comprises 9,538 in Bowen, 2,114 in Collinsville and Scottville and 2,759 in the outlying rural areas.

There are approximately 700 Indigenous people living in Bowen Shire, comprising around 5% of the population (ABS Website, January 2007).

Related Entries

  • Birri Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) for Backlog Exploration Permits
  • North Queensland Gas Pipeline Central Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • North Queensland Gas Pipeline Southern Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Bowen '1 Positive Families - Family Support Services' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Bowen '2 Positive Families - Childcare Services' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Bowen '3 Positive Families - Youth Boredom and Misbehaviour' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Bowen '4 Positive Families - Men's Leadership and Support' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)

  • References

    Australian Bureau of Statistics (2007) 2001 Census Data


    Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey