printable versionPrint this page

Robinson Treaties

Date: 7 September 1850
Sub Category:Treaty (Canada)
Place:Salte Ste. Marie
Alternative Names:
  • Robinson-Superior Treaty
  • Robinson-Huron Treaty
  • Great Lakes Ojibwa Treaties
  • Subject Matter:Land Settlement | Land Transaction | Mining and Minerals | Recognition of Traditional Rights and Interests
    Summary Information:
    The Robinson Treaties were made between the Crown and the Ojibwa Indians of Lake Superior to convey certain lands in the Northern Ontario and Prairie provinces of the Upper Great Lakes region to the Crown. They consist of two treaties being the Robinson-Superior Treaty (7 September 1850) and the Robinson-Huron Treaty (9 September 1850). The treaties, initially entered into to allow entry to lands for mining, had effect on an area of land far greater than any treaties before them. They also 'introduced the concept of creating Indian reserves for individual communities out of small portions of the land surrendered under treaty. These reserves were set aside for exclusive use of individual Indian communities while the underlying title was held by the Crown.' (Morse, 14)

    Related Entries

  • Government of Canada - Signatory
  • Event
  • Royal Proclamation 1763
  • Legislation
  • Constitution Act 1867
  • People
  • Ojibwa Indians - Signatory

  • References

    Department of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (1850) Robinson-Superior Treaty
    Department of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (1850) Robinson-Huron Treaty


    Treaty | Treaty (Canada)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey