printable versionPrint this page

Department of Defence

Category: Organisation
Binomial Name: Australian Commonwealth Government
Sub Category:Federal Government
Alternative Names:
  • Commonwealth Department of Defence
  • URL:
    Summary Information:
    The Department of Defence is responsible for matters concerning the security and military defence of Australia. In addition to the administrative staff within the department, there are three distinct operational units of the Australian Defence Force (ADF) - the army, navy and airforce - and several other associated administrative units responsible for specific functions (such as housing).
    Detailed Information:
    According to the Department, "[t]he ADF was established in 1901, soon after Federation. The ADF comprises the Royal Australian Navy (RAN), the Australian Army (Army) and the Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF). The Department of Defence employs some 90,000 people across Australia and throughout the world. About 51,000 are members of the ADF with a further 22,000 serving as Reservists or part time military. The Department employs approximately 18,000 civilians." (Department of Defence, Public Environment Report, 2003, p.2)

    There are several types of arrangements by which Indigenous rights and interests have been acknowledged and accommodated by the Department.

    This includes:
    - several Indigenous Land Use Agreements (ILUAs) which provide formal cooperative management arrangements for specific facilities or activities;
    - numerous consultation and heritage protection arrangements for other facilities and areas;
    - an Army Aboriginal Communities Assistance Program (AACAP) to contribute to community infrastructure; and
    - the NORFORCE program for the conduct of reconnaissance and surveillance patrols in remote areas.

    For further information on these programs and agreements, see below.

    Related Entries

  • Pumpkin Island (Koey Ngurtai) Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Dauan Island Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) (No. 2 Body Corporate Agreement)
  • Bradshaw Partnering Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Townsville RAAF Base Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Townsville Town Common Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Twofold Bay Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) - Signatory
  • Norforce - Borroloola Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) - Signatory
  • Shoalwater Bay Training Area Expansion Project Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) - Signatory
  • Defence Commercial Power Project Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) - Signatory
  • Greenvale Training Area Gugu Badhun Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) - Signatory
  • Greenvale Training Area Ewamian Inidgenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) - Signatory
  • Greenvale Training Area Gudjala Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) - Signatory
  • Organisation
  • Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF)
  • Great Australian Bight Marine Authority
  • Commonwealth of Australia
  • Defence Housing Authority
  • Policy/Strategy
  • Army Aboriginal Community Assistance Program (AACAP) - Signatory
  • North-West Mobile Force (NORFORCE) - Partner
  • Department of Defence Heritage Management Strategy

  • Glossary

    Federal Government | Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) (Native Title Act 1993 (Cth)) (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey