printable versionPrint this page

Okanagan Nation Alliance

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Representative Body | Aboriginal Community Council
State/Country:British Columbia, Canada
Subject Matter:Self Government
Summary Information:
The Okanagan Nation Alliance is the tribal council which represents the people of the Okanagan Nation. The traditional homelands of the Okanagan include large areas of the Southern Interior of British Columbia and Northern Washington. The seven nations of the Okanagan Nation Alliance include the people of the Upper Nicola, Okanagan, Westbank, Penticton, Osoyoos, Upper Similkameen and Lower Similkameen Nations. The Okanagan Nation Alliance 'has an inherent right and responsibility to enjoy, manage and protect its peoples, lands, resources and forms of government as stated in the "Okanagan Nation Declaration" of August 22, 1987.'

Related Entries

  • Westbank First Nation Self-Government Agreement 2003
  • People
  • Westbank First Nation

  • References

    Okananagan Nation Alliance (2001) Welcome to the Okanagan Nation Alliance
    Okanagan Nation Alliance (2001) The Westbank First Nations Indian Band: Additional Information


    Representative Body | Aboriginal Community Council (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey