Back to search results

printable versionPrint this page

Assembly of First Nations

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Representative Body
State/Country:Northwest Territories, Canada
Alternative Names:
  • Assemblee des Premieres Nations
  • Subject Matter:Cultural Heritage | Economic Development | Education | Employment and Training | Health and Community Services | Self Government
    Summary Information:
    The Assembly of First Nations (AFN) is a national representative body and lobby organisation established to promote the 'restoration and enhancement' of Canada's First Nations people. It represents the interests of over 630 First Nations communities. It addresses matters including Aboriginal and treaty rights, land claims, economic development, education, languages and literacy, health, housing, social development, taxation, justice and the environment.

    AFN Chiefs meet a on an annual basis for the purpose of establishing national policy and direction. The National Chief is elected every three years by the Chiefs-in-Assembly. Currently, the National Chief is Phil Fontaine (at 18 October 2005). The AFN's operations are funded in large part by the Department of Indian Affairs.

    The structure of the AFN is determined by the Charter of the Assembly of First Nations, originally adopted in 1985. Its central operational bodies are the First Nations-in-Assembly, the Confederacy of Nations, the Executive Committee, the Secretariat and the Council of Elders. The Executive Committee is composed of the National Chief, the Regional Vice-Chiefs and the Chairperson of the Council of Elders.

    The AFN is committed to the accomplishment of self-determination for each First Nation in Canada.

    Related Entries

  • Deline Dene Band
  • Inuit Tapirisat of Canada
  • Lutsel K'e Dene Band
  • Tsawwassen First Nation
  • Yellowknives Dene First Nation
  • People
  • Sahtu Dene People
  • Inuit of Canada
  • Akaitcho Territory Dene First Nations
  • Chipewyan Band
  • Cree Indians
  • Deh Cho First Nations
  • Deninu Kue First Nation
  • Dogrib First Nation People
  • Gwich'in People
  • Inuvialuit People
  • Kluane First Nation
  • Nisga'a Nation
  • Nunavik Inuit
  • Tlicho First Nation
  • Policy/Strategy
  • Charlottetown Accord 1992 - Signatory

  • Glossary

    Representative Body

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey