Back to search results

printable versionPrint this page

ACT Shared Responsibility Agreement

Date: 15 April 2004
Sub Category:Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
State/Country:Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Alternative Names:
  • A.C.T. Aboriginal Torres Strait Islander Community 'Governance' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Subject Matter: | Consultation | Education | Health and Community Services | Implementation | Recognition of Traditional Rights and Interests
    URL: Please contact the Council of Australian Governments directly at
    Summary Information:
    The ACT Shared Responsibility Agreement (the Agreement) was entered into between the Australian Government (through the Department of the Environment and Heritage), the Australian Capital Territory Government (the ACT Government) (through the Chief Minister's Department), the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community of the ACT (the community) and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ATSIC), on the 15 April 2004.

    In November 2000, the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) agreed that all governments would work together to improve the social and economic well-being of Indigenous people and communities. This objective was later complemented by COAG'S agreement in April 2002 to implement trials of working in partnership with Indigenous communities in up to 10 regions for the provision of more flexible programs and services based on priorities agreed with local communities. The ACT Agreement forms part of this initiative.

    Throughout the Agreement, the parties are referred to as 'partners'.

    The partners to the Agreement 'recognise and respect the Ngunnawal people, the traditional owners of the land known as the Australian Capital Territory' (para 1); the Agreement is made in a 'spirit of partnership and shared responsibility for the pursuit of agreed priorities and outcomes.' (para 1).

    The objective of the Agreement is to build a healthy, vibrant community, the guiding principle behind which is 'The Living Web' as proposed by the United Ngunnawal Elders' Council. The Living Web 'incorporates and encompasses all aspects of life - spiritual, physical and emotional well being, social and legal justice, and economic independence (para 2).
    Detailed Information:
    To ensure that the partners, wherever possible, take into account the views of all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people of the ACT when working with local issues, a new governance structure is set up under the Agreement. This is the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community Controlled Council (the Council) which is to 'represent the broad range of interests of the ACT community'. An Indigenous Working Group, membership of which will be decided by and limited to members of the Council, will represent the Council's interest in discussions and negotiations with governments.

    The community will be represented by the ATSIC Queanbeyan Regional Council, which will also be the primary point of contact with ATSIC.

    In order to explore measures aimed at tackling the root cause of Indigenous disadvantage, the Agreement sets the key priorities as:

    � social, spiritual, physical and emotional well-being
    � culture and learning; and
    � capacity building for all (para 4).

    These key priorities will inform any new initiatives or projects developed under the Agreement, as well the review of existing programs and service delivery.

    As a starting point the partners agree to commence comprehensive consultations with the community to 'identify and develop culturally appropriate strategies' to address trauma, the effects of substance abuse, the over representation of Indigenous people in the criminal justice system, and disparities in educational outcomes between Indigenous people and the wider community (para 4).

    Other issues dealt with by the Agreement are:

    � progressing priorities and outcomes, which is the responsibility of a Steering Committee;
    � performance measurement and evaluation;
    � review of progress;
    � access to data;
    � dispute settling arrangements; and
    � the duration of the Agreement, which will continue in force until all partners agree in writing to terminate the Agreement or it is replaced with another agreement.

    Related Entries

  • Greater Shepparton Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Tjurabalan Community Participation Agreement
  • Murdi Paaki Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Wadeye Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Lockhart River 'Empower the Community' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Hope Vale 'Partnership' Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Organisation
  • Department of the Environment and Heritage (Cth) - Signatory
  • Australian Capital Territory - Signatory
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Regional Councils
  • Council of Australian Governments
  • ATSIC Queanbeyan Regional Council
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ATSIC) - Signatory
  • Event
  • Council of Australian Governments' Communiqu
  • People
  • Ngunnawal People
  • Policy/Strategy
  • Whole of Government Initiatives
  • Cape York COAG Trial
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Lands COAG Trial
  • North Eastern Tasmania COAG Trial

  • References

    Indigenous Communities Taskforce - Australian Government (2003) Shared Responsibility Shared Future. Indigenous Whole of Government Initiative: The Australian Government Performance Monitoring and Evaluation Framework
    Council of Australian Governments (2004) ACT Shared Responsibility Agreement


    Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey