printable versionPrint this page

Aboriginal Areas Protection Authority

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Statutory Body
State/Country:Northern Territory, Australia
Alternative Names:
  • AAPA
  • URL:
    Summary Information:
    The Aboriginal Areas Protection Authority (AAPA) was established in 1989 under the Northern Territory Aboriginal Sacred Sites Act 1989 (NT). AAPA consists of a 12 member board presently constituted by 10 Aboriginal custodians nominated by the Northern Territory Land Councils and two government appointees. Members are appointed by the Administrator of the Northern Territory for a three year renewable term.
    Detailed Information:
    AAPA receives applications for Authority Certificates from parties proposing to use or work on land. AAPA responds to such applications by consulting the relevant Aboriginal custodians to ascertain whether a Certificate can be issued and any conditions needed to protect any sacred sites that might be affected by the proposed works.

    Related Entries

  • Northern Territory of Australia
  • Legislation
  • Northern Territory Aboriginal Sacred Sites Act 1989 (NT)
  • Case Law
  • Hayes v Northern Territory [2000] FCA 671 (23 May 2000)

  • References

    Northern Territory Government (1989) Northern Territory Aboriginal Sacred Sites Act 1989 (NT)


    Statutory Body

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey