Back to search results

printable versionPrint this page

Balgo 'Structured Activities for Young People' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)

Date: 30 March 2005
Sub Category:Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
State/Country:Western Australia, Australia
Balgo is located in the East Kimberley.
Subject Matter: | Health and Community Services | Sports and Physical Recreation | Youth
Summary Information:
The Balgo Aboriginal Community signed the Tjurabalan Community Participation Agreement in 2003 as part of the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) trial. Building from that agreement, in 2005 the community signed a new Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) to improve activities for young people. The SRA develops structured activities for young people after school and on weekends.

Shared Responsibility Agreements are agreements between governments and Indigenous communities to provide discretionary funding in return for community obligations. The new arrangements developed from an initiative of the Council of Australian Governments and replace the previous ATSIC system of funding. For more information see 'Shared Responsibility Agreement' below.
Detailed Information:

The COAG trial, and a community summit held in 2004 identified the urgency of reducing substance abuse among young people. The Balgo Community will provide structured activities to keep young people safe and busy out of school hours.

Shared Responsibilities

The Commonwealth government will provide funds of $15,000 to repair the basketball court lights. The money will also fund equipment and supplies for youth camps.

The Balgo community will be responsible for organising the activities. They will contribute games and equipment, organise three weekly activities, keep records of participation and look after equipment. Families and guardians will ensure that young people attends the organised activities.

The Balgo SRA is administered by the Kununurra Indigenous Coordination Centre.

Related Entries

  • Tjurabalan Community Participation Agreement
  • Organisation
  • Commonwealth of Australia - Signatory
  • State of Western Australia
  • Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination (Cth)
  • Kununurra Indigenous Coordination Centre (ICC)
  • Department of Transport and Regional Services (Cth)
  • People
  • Balgo Aboriginal Community - Signatory

  • Glossary

    Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey