Back to search results

printable versionPrint this page

Youngaleena 'Early Childhood Education' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)

Date: 1 January 2005
Sub Category:Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
Place:Pilbara region
State/Country:Western Australia, Australia
Youngaleena is located in the Pilbara, approximately 260 kilometres south of South Hedland.
  • Proposed contribution - Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination ($20,000)
  • Proposed contribution - Department of Education, Science and Training ($20,000)
  • Subject Matter: | | Education | Youth
    Summary Information:
    The Youngaleena 'Early Childhood Education' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) was signed in 2005 to coordinate the creation of a designated learning environment for young children. The SRA was signed by the Youngaleena Indigenous Community, the Gumula Aboriginal Corporation and the Commonwealth of Australia.

    Shared Responsibility Agreements are agreements between governments and Indigenous communities to provide discretionary funding in return for community obligations. The new arrangements developed from an initiative of the Council of Australian Governments and replace the previous ATSIC system of funding. For more information see 'Shared Responsibility Agreement' below.
    Detailed Information:

    The SRA creates a designated learning environment for children aged 2-7 years. Currently, Youngaleena children learn through School of the Air, which is held from a resident's lounge room. Under the SRA, a donga will be purchased, and materials will be provided to facilitate strong preparation for primary school education.

    Shared Responsibilities

    The Commonwealth Government will contribute $40,000 to purchase the donga, teaching equipment, books and toys.

    Youngaleena residents will ensure their children attend the School of the Air. The Gumula Aboriginal Corporation will help install the donga.

    The Youngaleena SRA is administered by the South Hedland Indigenous Coordination Centre.

    Related Entries

  • Commonwealth of Australia - Signatory
  • State of Western Australia
  • Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination (Cth)
  • South Hedland Indigenous Coordination Centre (ICC)
  • Gumala Aboriginal Corporation - Signatory
  • Port Hedland School of the Air
  • People
  • Youngaleena Indigenous Community - Signatory

  • References

    News Item
    Message Stick Online (2005) New agreement pushes 'no school no play' policy


    Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey