Back to search results

printable versionPrint this page

Warburton Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)

Date: 1 January 2005
Sub Category:Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
Place:Central Desert
State/Country:Western Australia, Australia
Subject Matter: | Education
Summary Information:
The Warburton Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) is one of three such agreements signed in Ngaanyatjarra Lands as part of the Ngaanyatjarra Regional Partnership Agreement (RPA). The Warburton SRA is designed to provide educational opportunities for young people in the community.

Shared Responsibility Agreements are agreements between governments and Indigenous communities to provide discretionary funding in return for community obligations. The new arrangements developed from an initiative of the Council of Australian Governments and replace the previous ATSIC system of funding. For more information see 'Shared Responsibility Agreement' below.
Detailed Information:


The Warburton community want to assist young people who have left school but are not ready to enrol in formal training. The SRA provides for up to 75 young people to take part in an education program developed for them, which will include online training as well as on-site trainers.

Shared Responsibilities

Under the SRA, the local community will care for children so that young mothers can can participate in the program, organise transportation and assist the Ngaanyatjarra College to manage the program.

The government parties will provide funding for the program.

Related Entries

  • Ngaanyatjarra Regional Partnership Agreement (RPA)
  • Wanarn Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Ngaanyatjarra Municipal Services Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Organisation
  • Commonwealth of Australia - Signatory
  • State of Western Australia - Signatory
  • Shire of Ngaanyatjarraku - Signatory
  • Ngaanyatjarra Land Council - Signatory
  • Kalgoorlie Indigenous Coordination Centre (ICC)
  • People
  • Warburton Aboriginal Community - Signatory

  • References

    Media Release
    John Cobb, Minister for Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs (2005) Australian First for Desert Communities


    Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey