printable versionPrint this page

Mildura Rural City Council

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Local Government
Place:Northwestern Victoria
State/Country:Victoria, Australia
Summary Information:
'Mildura Rural City Council was created as a new municipality on 20 January 1995, following the amalgamation of the former City of Mildura and the Shires of Mildura and Walpeup.

The municipality covers an area of 22,330 square kilometres - the largest in Victoria.

The urban area of Mildura [] is surrounded by satellite townships including Irymple, Red Cliffs and Merbein that comprise the first irrigation colony to be established in Australia.

The Sunraysia region is an oasis garden near the junction of two major rivers, the Murray and the Darling, and covers intense citrus, vine and other horticultural crops.

In contrast, the dryland areas of the municipality are primarily based on cereal and wool production, much of this adjoining the Murray Sunset National Park'.
(Mildura Rural City Council, 'About Council': (at 9 December 2005).

Related Entries

  • Mildura Marina Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) - Signatory
  • Wotjobaluk, Jaadwa, Jadawadjali Wergaia and Jupagulk Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • People
  • Mildura Aboriginal Community

  • Glossary

    Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey