printable versionPrint this page

Raukkan Indigenous Community

Category: People
State/Country:South Australia, Australia
Alternative Names:
  • Raukkan Aboriginal Community
  • Summary Information:
    Raukkan has a population of approximately 122 people, the majority of whom are Indigenous (ABS 2001 Census, January 2007). Raukkan Community reside on 14,000 acres of land, of which 9,000 is arable. The commercial activities of the community are managed by Raukkan Ngarrindjeri Pty Ltd which oversees cropping, dairy farming and beef cattle.

    Raukkan, previously known as the Point McLeay Mission until 1982, is administered by the Ngarrindjeri people. (State Library of South Australia, January 2007).

    Pursuant to the Aboriginal Lands Trust Act 1966 SA, the Raukkan Indigenous community are also landholders for Aboriginal Lands Trust.

    Related Entries

  • Raukkan Community Council and Coorong District Council Agreement - Signatory
  • Raukkan 'Building Community Capacity' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) - Signatory
  • Raukkan 'Restoring the Historic Church' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) - Signatory
  • Organisation
  • Coorong District Council
  • Raukkan Community Council
  • People
  • Ngarrindjeri People

  • References

    Local Government Association of South Australia (2005) Raukkan Community Council and the Coorong District Council Alliance
    South Australian Government Building South Australia Infrastructure - Aboriginal Lands Trusts
    State Library of South Australia (2006) Aboriginal missions on the River Murray (Factsheet)
    Australian Bureau of Statistics 2001 Census QuickStats: Raukkan (Indigenous Location)


    Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey