printable versionPrint this page

Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Land Rights Act 1981 (SA)

Category: Legislation
Binomial Name: State of South Australia
Sub Category:Legislation
State/Country:South Australia, Australia
The lands that are the subject of this legislation are located approximately 1,200 km north of Adelaide.
Subject Matter:Cultural Heritage | Mining and Minerals | Native Title | Recognition of Native Title or Traditional Ownership
Summary Information:
The Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjarra Land Rights Act 1981 (SA) (APYLRA) was formerly known as the Pitjantjatjara Land Rights Act 1981 (SA).

According to the Objects (s 4A), the APYLRA was enacted to provide for, and thus acknowledge, Anangu ownership of the land; to establish the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjarra as a body corporate; and to 'provide for efficient and accountable administration and management of lands by Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjarra.'

The APYLRA authorised the Governor to grant land in the north-west area of South Australia (including land in the North-West Reserve and a number of pastoral leases) in freehold to the Anangu Pitjantjatjara. On 30 October 1981, about 102,650 square kilometres (or about 10.4% of the State of South Australia) was granted to the Anangu Pitjantjatjara under the Act. Communities on the Lands include: Amata, Fregon, Indulkana, Mimili, Pipalyatjara, and Pukatja (Ernabella).

The Anangu Pitjantjatjara is a body corporate with an Executive Board comprising a chairperson and 10 other members elected at an annual general meeting. All Pitjantjatjara, Yankunytjatjara and Ngaanyatjarra people who are traditional owners of any part of the Lands are members.

Related Entries

  • APY Lands Regional Partnership Agreement
  • Organisation
  • Pitjantjatjara Council
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Land Management (APY)
  • State of South Australia
  • Event
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Land Transfer
  • Legislation
  • Pitjantjatjara Land Rights Act 1981 (SA) - Later known as
  • Maralinga Tjarutja Land Rights Act 1984 (SA)
  • Aboriginal Lands Trust Act 1966 (SA)
  • People
  • Pukatja Indigenous Community
  • Pitjantjatjara People
  • Ngaanyatjarra People
  • Yankunytjatjara People

  • References

    South Australian Government (1981) Pitjantjatjara Land Rights Act 1981(SA)



    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey