printable versionPrint this page

Wunthulpu Aboriginal Land Trust

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Aboriginal Land Trust (Queensland)
Place:Coen, the Cape York Peninsula
State/Country:Queensland, Australia
Coen is located approximately halfway between the tip of the Cape York Peninsula and Cairns.
Summary Information:

The Wunthulpu Aboriginal Land Trust is an Aboriginal Land Trust established to hold land granted under the Aboriginal Land Act 1991 (Qld) in 1997 and 1998 (Memmott and McDougall, AIATSIS Website). The Trust holds land for the benefit of Aboriginal people, their ancestors and descendants. It is required to comply with the administrative and financial requirements of the Aboriginal Land Regulation 1991 (Qld). The land held by the Trust comprises two parcels (R10 and R 11) of former Aboriginal Reserve land at Coen Aboriginal Reserve, the Cape York Peninsula. The Trust is made up of representatives of the groups from the area, significantly, Kaanju, Lamalama, Ayapathu and Wik Mungkan (Memmott and McDougall, AIATSIS Website).

Related Entries

  • State of Queensland
  • Legislation
  • Aboriginal Land Act 1991 (Qld)
  • People
  • Kaanju People
  • Lamalama People
  • Wik Mungkan People
  • Ayapathu People

  • Glossary

    Aboriginal Land Trust (Queensland) (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey